it’s the little things

I have been studying for the gmat recently (which explains the dearth of posts), so I’ve been getting good use out of my trusty mechanical pencil. It’s an unassuming cheap, rubberized grip pencil, and I love it. I love that I don’t have to carry a pencil sharpener. I love that I can retract the lead so I don’t find stray pencil marks. I love that the lead tracts and retracts with a satisfying click. It’s a simple pencil and it makes me happy.

So it was with much sadness recently when my pencil both ran out of lead and eraser. I’ve been scrabbling by, writing on an angle to not push to too-short lead back into the body, repositioning the eraser in minute amounts so it doesn’t fall out. Yesterday was extremely sad when both of these methods failed and I had to borrow a sub-standard generic mechanical pencil with the twist top. It’s really jarring to do math with a different pencil, it’s wrong somehow.

Today I went to Walgreens and bought some lead. They didn’t have the eraser refills. I then went to Utrecht across the street and bought the eraser, and some lead (it was cheaper than Walgreens! Hooray for a tiny bargain!). Now my pencil is refilled and is happy. I am happy.  The math? Still not happy.

pencil

evidence of my fabulous cameraphone picture taking abilities

1 Comment

Filed under sappy

One response to “it’s the little things

  1. judy(mom)

    Okay, I get the picture….you want me to send you Temptee Whipped Cream Cheese. But even tho those bagels were great I am imagining, I should send you some NY water too, cause that is what usually is wrong with bagels and pizza outside of NYC. Oh, and Happy Birthday to the undisclosedly aged older guy.

Leave a Reply

