crespina, my second home

According to this article in the NYTimes, Crespina, Italy, is now the sister city to my dear hometown of Staten Island, NY. I cannot begin to tell you how funny that is to me. Apparently officials in Crespina were so thrilled that they threw a parade. I wonder if they had met the SI delegation when they first came up with the idea. (Imagine a nasal voice)”Yo, I tink dis town of Crespina would be an ideal vacation spot. Lets get dem to be sistah cities so we can go for free. Oh, an’ dey would trow in some grape advice, too. For free!” Cause that’s just what the ole’ forgotten borough needs: a vineyard. Just to confuse it with Lon Geyeland more!

crespina

Oh Crespina, how like Staten Island you are!

Also in the times this week, a “travel” article about Staten Island. Shouldn’t they have waited until the vineyard is set up? Ah well. Like all food guides to SI, they list Denino’s as a top pizzeria. Have they actually been? I’ve been many times – it’s crap. Ok, maybe not the worst pizza around, but there are so many better options. The only reason to go to Denino’s for dinner is because you plan on going to Ralph’s for dessert. And really, you should not even do that. Just go to Ralph’s. Trust me. If you want seriously good pizza on Staten Island, head to Joe and Pat’s. Trust me.

1 Comment

Filed under cookery

One response to “crespina, my second home

  1. Alexa

    I think this entry should be labeled “rants” as well as the next one…

    Wine from Staten Island… What will they think of next! Bet you they don’t put Staten Island on the label.

Leave a Reply

