Why this blog?

I like crafts. I fold paper into pretty sculptures, I glue pictures to magnets, I turn clay into eating vessels. Yet somehow I have escaped turning yarn into clothing. That’s right, while a lot of my friends, we of the ballyhooed (and hooey-booed) Generation Y (yarn?) were getting their sticks on, I ignored the trend and puttered happily at the potters wheel. But witness my friend Diva, not too long after she joined a knitting circle, waltzing around in a coulda-sworn-it-came-from-gap-but-what?-she-made-that?! hoodie, and other friends were casually displaying their garment making genius with apparently little effort, then I too yearned to put sheeps fur to better use (that and I really wanted to knit the Hallowig from Knitty.) But now I live across the country, and I’m intimidated by the advanced clacking of my friends’ group, so when I was at a friend’s house, I asked her to show me how to knit. We walked into a jo-ann fabrics (no dissing the jo-ann’s! they have some great, cheap, cotton yarn. even tho what I bought at first wasn’t that) and picked up a skein and some 10.5s. After struggling for a while, I took a book out of the library. Well, it didn’t look like the pictures. I soon got better, tho. And unlike ceramics, the learning curve isn’t steep and I don’t forget how to do it if I put it down for a while.

3 Comments

Filed under knitting

3 responses to “Why this blog?

  1. Anonymous

    cara I love you!

  2. Anonymous

    cara, you rule. when i completely f up the projects I’m starting to design (gulp!), you’ll be the first to know!

  3. Book Stud

    Welcome to the fold babydoll!

    xoxox
    Diva

Leave a Reply

